Home > Blogs and Writings > Why worry?

Why worry?

December 9, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32For the pagans run after all these things and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Matthew 6:25-34

 

Why Worry?

 

Why worry? Does anyone can add a single hour in his life by worrying? I’m sure none and actually by worrying we wasted our time. We start to worry when we know that we lose control of certain things it could be present but most of the time it’s in the future. What shall I eat? What I shall I wear? What will happen tomorrow? What if I lose this job? What if she left me? What shall I do? Worry will inevitably strike you but it shouldn’t hold you for a long time.

 

Worry is not the same as being concerned. You can be concerned without worrying. I’ll be concerned if my friend is having a low grades but I will never be worried about it. I’ll be concerned if my friend is not yet washing his clothes but I’ll never be worried about it because I’m not devoted with it. We have a lot of concerns in our life but we worry only on those things we are so devoted to.  “My devotions in life determine what I’m most worried with.” If you are devoted with your study you worry if you don’t review for the coming exams. If you are devoted with your job you worry every time they decrease employee. If you are devoted with your family you worry if someone is sad and depressed. So, to trace the areas of your life you are most worried or potentially you will be worried, look at the things you are most devoted to.

 

Not worrying is not the same as not doing something. “So okay I don’t need to worry, let’s have fun in our yatch.” Not worrying means: After you have done what you should do, you became responsible, it’s time to say. “I’ve done my part; I have no control on this God; I trust the future things to you” or maybe you worry because you became irresponsible and you suffer the aftermath of your irresponsibility. It’s never been late to fix things as long as we are living. Do what you should do. Take the necessary actions and then. Say the same words above.

 

Worry is a faith related matter. The bigger your faith the lesser you worry.

 

Future will be always uncertain. Problems should be taken one step at a time and after being responsible lean on God and do not worry anymore because He’s the one who has that upper hand over the future. Be responsible, be concerned but don’t worry.

 

Adapted from Andy Stanley’s topic “Why worry?”

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment